counter for wordpress
Breeders’ Cup 2009: Saturday | Superfectablog v3.0

Racehorses in History

June: Fairy Chant
b. 1937
Why: A champion at 3 and 4, Fairy Chant won the Beldame twice. She was in the money for 26 of her 42 races.

Raceday 360


Breeders’ Cup 2009: Saturday

We’ll just go straight in for the commentary – latest updates always on Twitter.

Juvenile Turf
I had Viscount Nelson with Pounced in my exacta, so I won’t be cashing any tickets, but it was a very professional effort by Pounced (with more than a little help from Frankie Dettori). In any event, it’s always fun to see Dettori in the winner’s circle. Lady Serena Rothschild, his owner, reminds me of this:

Turf Sprint
Nice to see Joe Talamo get a Breeders’ Cup win – naturally, I had the other filly, Diamondrella, boxed in my exacta with California Flag – as well as Cannonball, who finished third. Gotta Have Her put in a great run for second, even if she did ruin my ticket.

I only had Fleeting Spirit - obviously, she would have done better in the Turf Sprint. Wish I’d had the trifecta for this one! Still, Carla Gaines trains the winner, Dancing in Silks, and I’m all for more female trainers winning Breeders’ Cup races.

Ahmed Ajtebi is having quite a year – he gave Vale of York a great ride.

GOL-D-KO-VA! Clap, clap, clapclapclap! That’s how it’s done, folks.

Dirt Mile
I had to dash out for that, but I’m glad I didn’t bet it – I’d have had nothing. Really odd result.

What a great race – Conduit coming back to repeat, just like Goldikova – and fine runs from Presious Passion and Dar Re Mi. At least I got $3 on her – but how exciting to see two champions successfully defend their titles.

The gate scratch of Quality Road made everything peculiar – but what a result. Zenyatta proved everything and then some – and what great efforts from Gio Ponti and Twice Over as well.

Let Rachel Alexandra and Zenyatta share Horse of the Year – who needs the colts?

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>